Testimonials

Incredible Luxury Retreat Run By Lovely People – What More Could You Want? My 10th wedding anniversary was coming up fast and I wanted to do something really special to celebrate with my wife, something that would truly blow her away. I got on to my friend Adam who is a travel agent and organises all my travel for me and asked him if he knew of anything that would fit the bill. Adam came back to me with Cascade Creak Retreat and I can’t tell you how pleased I am that he did. Cascade Creek was the perfect setting and experience for what I was looking for, in fact, it exceeded my expectation in every way. Right from the get go the experience was simple, straight forward, personal, and friendly. After I got the initial booking taken care of online, I got personal email confirmation assuring me that everything was done and that my booking was complete. Then in the lead up to my stay I got another email making sure I was comfortable with the directions, check in procedure and with the facilities that would be provided, not an automated email, but a personal email from Janene, who along with her Husband Dave owns the retreat. It was personal touches like this that really highlighted for me that we were in for something special. When my wife and I got to the retreat we were stunned. It is set in the most beautiful surroundings imaginable. Set on the side of a hill overlooking a gully and surrounded by a combination of farmland and native forrest, it is truly a haven of peace and tranquility. The accomodation itself is a hand crafter wood cabin, rustic but finished to a high spec, with all the creature comforts that I could have asked for. The stay is essentially self catered so everything you need in terms of cooking facilities were provided, gas stove top and oven, microwave, and BBQ for cooking, coffee machine, all cutlery plates etc. We never once thought ‘boy we wish we had…” or “I wish they had thought to put one of those here’. We simply had everything we needed provided for us. Although the retreat is self catered there are a number of options available for food to be supplied for you to cook, or even for your own personal chef to come to you and cook for you in the retreat. We took advantage of the ‘Dinner In’ experience on the Saturday night of our stay. Our chef, Kelly, arrived at the time I had stipulated and set about her work. She was great, relaxed, friendly and yet efficient. She made a great meal into a wonderful overall experience. Oh, and the food was excellent! Some highlights of the stay for us included enjoying the walks that lead from the retreat through native bush to a beautiful waterfall, or through rolling farmlands and stunning scenery. We even went down to the waterfall at night to be serenaded by the twinkling lights of glow worms. Along side the strong emphasis on the ‘personal touch’ Cascade Retreat has a caring eco friendly ethos. The retreat itself is powered by a combination of solar and hydro power. Now, that night make some nervous “will there be enough electricity?” “will there be power outages because we have used all the power?” “will we need to be super sensitive in our power usage?”. The answer to these questions from my experience is a resounding no. We used lights, plug in power, fans etc, and there were electric blankets and heaters provided and we never got the sense that we were pushing our luck. What’s more, while the power comes from solar and hydro generation, the water is gas heated which means that there is an (almost) unlimited supply of hot water, which you will need for the two full sized out door baths… did I not mention those yet? My wife and I spent a good deal of time in these baths, sitting outside night and day, in the sun, rain, and under the stars… bliss! Look, I could bleat on forever about how great this experience was and how well looked after we were by Janene and Dave but we would all be here forever, so let me finish here with a simple encouragement. If you are looking for something special, a romantic get away or time to relax with friends and loved ones, book Cascade Creek, it’s a great place run by lovely people, and not only will you not regret it, but you will find yourself sitting on review websites waxing lyrical about how great the stay was, not simply because it’s true, but because you will want other people to experience this amazing place and the lovely folk who own it. Treat yourself.

K and J Bate 25th March 2016

Nailed it! The cabin had everything we were hoping for. No disappointments here. We never planned to stay in this area of NZ during our holiday but when I came across this cabin on the internet we had to change our plans to fit it in. So pleased we did! Gorgeous setting, roaring fire, tranquil birdsong, stunning deck and perfect place to unplug from electronics and reconnect as a family. We stayed with our kids 10 and 12 plus my elderly parents. My husband and I slept in the pull down bed by the fire and it was so comfortable. I’ve rarely seen the kids play together so happily for so long. When we get home we should cancel our Wifi!!! ???? Would recommend this place to anyone, a highlight of our 2 weeks in beautiful NZ.

D and A Spurgeon, March 2016

Heaven on Earth. Words really can’t describe how fabulous Cascade Creek is…you really have to experience the tranquillity and beauty yourself…if you are after somewhere to indulge yourself and reconnect with nature or your partner then this is the place to go… gorgeous outdoor baths with only the bellbirds, tuis and kereru for company…perfect for a romantic getaway, no wifi or tv…perfect! Janene and Dave have done a wonderful job of ensuring anything that you may need has been well catered for …right down to day packs and water bottles…there are a couple of lovely walks over the farm land and thru the native bush if you feel too guilty laying around reading in the hammock or on the lovely deck…this truly is heaven on earth.

S and T Mulholland, 31st December 2016

Awesome wedding Anniversary. Location was everything we dreamed of, totally private with everything you need for a memorable stay. The log fire, hammock and outdoor btahs are just the best, the outdoor laundry is very cool too. Have already recommended to friends and family.

M And G Hansen, 17th  November 2015

Thank you for the most perfect getaway. We were completely blown away by the cabin as soon as we got out of the car and approached it- such a feeling of awe. Amazing spot, loved the sheep. Loved the fire, having a hot bath under the stars, an adventurous walk and all of the amenities provided were completely amazing. Absolute highlight of our NZ trip – we will be back one day!

Dina and Jake 28th September 2015

“Loved the outside baths, soaking in the rain under umbrellas! Very romantic…”

Darren and Rosina 17th September 2015

This is an incredible place to stay. The feedback is 100% justified. JUST. WOW. We will be back again, and again. Thank you for having us here! Our time here was very special: The walks are picture perfect, and the log cabin is what we’ve dreamed of for many years, thanks!

Kristian and Erin 7th August 2015

Perfect location for our honeymoon! The cabin is gorgeous and the property is amazing. Champagne and bubble- baths outdoors under the stars is an experience we wont forget. Thanks so much!

Tom and Caitlyn 1st July 2015

Beautiful house, amazing scenery! Thank you for allowing us to have the perfect evening. As a young girl you dream of your engagement and there could not be a more perfect setting than this! Will visit again, thank you!

Laura and Brad 12 June 2015

The only bad thing about our stay was that is had to end. Everything was perfect.

The Hayley and Miller Families 22nd February 2015

This accommodation is far beyond our dreams. It will be top in our memory ofour time in NZ. Many thanks Dave and Janene for having shared this.

Christine and Michel 17th February 2015

What an amazing place to see the New Year in! We loved the tranquility, the birdsong, the baths, the fire, the walks were great and worth the effort! We loved everything about  this slice of paradise and hope to be back soon! Thanks for sharing your gorgeous cabin in the woods- just magic!

Tanz and Sean January 2015

One of the most beautiful places we have ever stayed in! We will be back.

Annabelle and Stephen 15 November 2014

Lovely Lovely Lovely! Superb building, magical views. The perfect family experience. The outdoor baths are so special. The luxury touches are the icing on the cake. So glad we had the chance to experience this special place.

The Durie Family September 2014

This place is beyond expectations! The outdoor baths, the fire, the environment. the food and the quality of everything is just amazing. Really have created the slice of paradise. Perfect place for our 1st Anniversary. Definitely will be back!

Mickey and Regan 21 September 2014

A little taste of luxury in a little slice of paradise. Staying 3 nights in the lovely cabin truly is the high light of our travel to NZ. The moment I stepped on the deck of the cabin I felt like everything I saw from the picture before I made the reservation became real and what’s even better is I could finally experience the idea of “home away from home”. its definitely hands down the best place I have ever stayed.
What we never expected is the owner came by with a plate of home made cookie to see if we were comfortable and warm as it snowed in the morning. I am saying could you guys be any more thoughtful for your guests?
I’d love to come back to the lovely cabin one day. The only thing I am hoping is it can be longer than 3 nights. Thank you Janene and Dave you really made our travel wonderful.

Michael Wang 2nd October 2014

This place is beyond expectations! The outdoor baths, the fire, the environment, the food and the quality of everything is just amazing. You really have created a slice of paradise! Perfect for our first anniversary… we will definitely be back!

Regan McLay 21st September 2014

The solitude and tranquility were unbeatable. A wonderfully secluded place to get away from everything for a while. The facilities were impeccable, and the special touches around the cabin were gorgeous – especially the home-knitted slippers. The birdsong was absolutely beautiful. The starlit outdoor bath topped it off! We honestly didn’t want to leave!

L & R Mills 14th September 2014

My favourite place on earth. The resort is an incredible combination of luxury and wilderness. It’s one of the most remote places I have ever stayed but the hosts are immeasurably great at thinking of your every need. The detail and love put into this place is quite incredible. You can feel it when you stay here and that alone makes the stay memorable. It truly is my favourite place.

Sofia Crosley 5th September 2014.

Thanks for sharing this awesome hideaway! This is the epitome of cosiness and beautiful natural surroundings. All the thoughtful touches made for a very special birthday experience. Congratulations on creating such a destination!!

Mark – 18th May 2014

We are honoured to have stayed at your dream house.Your story of your dream to build this house has inspired us that dreams absolutely can come true!  Thank you for your kindness, your hospitality and your patience. We appreciate your perseverance, hard work and passion and making it happen. This has been a memorable experience and we are going home with a thought of ‘ what are our dreams’ All the best.

Kaman Ho 27th April 2014

An absolute highlight of our trip.Words can’t describe how magic it was to arrive here and i wouldn’t want to spoil the experience by describing it. It feels remote, cosy, magical, romantic and luxurious. Of all the places we stayed in NZ this is the place that stands out. If you take some time out and spend it here you will not be disappointed, it is the ultimate chill out with plenty of native bush to trek about in, and one of the best views from any bath tub! This review is very late and we must apologise to the owners for this, although the fact that we rave about this place 8 months later says it all really.

Ben and Laura Jones – stayed 26th/27th June 2013, posted review Feb. 2014

We felt like the only people in the world. Cascade Creek is the perfect retreat if you are looking for some R&R; and real quality time together. The air is clean, it’s blissfully quiet and the property is immaculate. We loved soaking in the outdoor bath and watching the birds fly by. We relished in the unspoilt walks and enjoyed feeling like we had just discovered the path behind the bath. Though maintained it still has a raw, slightly off-piste feel as you step over tree roots and moss. To me this is the perfect place to come back to with children but wouldn’t suit those who are addicted to constant electronic entertainment, this is a place for playing board games together (provided), exploring nature and indulging in your imagination. Dunedin is 45mins to an hour by car but really you won’t to leave once you get here.

Sarah-Jane Sherwood – 5th February 2014

Amazing! Such a special hideaway in the middle of the bush.
We spent our honeymoon here and it was just the best decision we could’ve made. Baths under the stars, bubbles on the deck, nothing but the birds chirping and the trees rustling. Beautiful. There’s no cellphone reception, but being forced to abandon my cellphone was a challenge I didn’t realise I’d love as much as I did – I didn’t want to turn it back on once we left! Also – this is a great place for someone in a wheelchair. The shower is a wet area one, and they can supply a shower chair on request. There are no hand-rails by the toilet but they also supply a commode chair if you need one. There are ramps all over the house and, apart from the bedroom upstairs, the whole place is really accessible. I also highly recommend getting the ‘Dinner in’ option – the woman who takes care of this, Kelly,  is an absolute superstar and cooks better food than many restaurants I’ve been to. Definitely worth the extra splash! Will definitely return to Cascade Retreat one day, but in the mean time, do yourself a favour and check it out!

Red and Helen Nicholson – 24 January 2014

AMAZING!!! We felt so lucky to be able to spend 3 nights in such a special spot. The location was fantastic to get away to, it offered a place to really relax while also offering those who are more active relaxers to get out there and enjoy being outdoors. It offered everything we needed. The accommodation and what was provided there was thought out in great detail. Expectations more than exceeded. We will look forward to returning.

Anna Wong-4 January 2014

 A very special spot.  I chose Cascade Creek Retreat as a place to stay with friends for New Year’s Eve.  We wanted a place where we could relax in nature, cook a nice meal to enjoy together around a dinner table and perhaps make a little noise at midnight.  This place worked out perfectly! We were two couples, so one couple took the bedroom and the other the bed on the loft level. I was originally concerned about privacy, but needn’t have been.  Everyone felt like their had their own space.  My favourite features of the cabin would be the large sunny deck overlooking native bush, with large comfy chairs, and the beautiful open fireplace inside. There were some very thoughtful touches to our stay – firstly the homemade cupcakes and personalised note left for you, and there was even a bag of marshmallows to enjoy toasting over the open fire. I would absolutely recommend this place as working well for 2 sets of couples, but I can also picture it as perfect for a romantic stay. For a couple in winter, it would be lovely to use the Queen wall bed in the living area and sleep close to the open fire.

Lisa Schollum – 31st December 2013

Tranquil Oasis. A beautiful setting, gorgeous accommodation and superb customer relations.  Thanks for a lovely honeymoon!            

Niall Curran-10 October 2013      

Secluded luxury in the heart of a New Zealand sheep farm.What a wonderful night we had at this completely secluded and beautiful cabin near a bush-filled gully on a 4000acre sheep farm.  Our little children were charmed by the cabin, birdsong and outside bath.  They slept soundly to the sound of the crackling log fire.  A beautiful spot for my husband and I to unwind once they were asleep – wine, board games, leather couches and a beautifully appointed king bed upstairs.  Love the luxury furnishings and little touches of hospitality.  We were charmed by all the little lambs skipping around as we drove in and out through the farm!  Highly recommended.

K.Hogan- 1st October 2013

A memorable stay for a special occasion. Cascade Creek Retreat was simply magnificent. A stunning place that enhanced our special day and made our memorable day one that we will never forget. Cascade had everything we needed for our weekend stay, the only bad bit about Cascade Creek was when it was time to go, we just didn’t want to leave.
We highly recommend going with the dinner in option for a special occasion. Our Chef, Kelly cooked one amazing meal and an absolutely scrumptious dessert.

Matt and Angela-21 September 2013

Best accommodation experience we have ever had. The Retreat is great. A great place to stop and think and refocus. All the wee details are great. True luxury.

Sandy – 23 September 2013

Stop looking. You’ve found it. Staying in this beautiful log cabin for 3 nights was the highlight of our 12 day NZ adventure. From the moment I first enquired, the service provided was amazing. Janene was incredibly helpful and welcoming at every turn. When our stay finally arrived, my partner and I were extremely excited. We were a little nervous that perhaps we’d set our expectations unreasonably high, but we needn’t have worried – It was everything we’d hope for and more! We had ordered the Welcome Basket and were delighted to be greeted by an array of delicious treats – including fresh fruit and chocolate dipping sauce (yum!). We’d made the mistake of going shopping before heading to the cabin, because much of what we’d bought was already provided (milk, bread, cooking oil etc). The gorgeous stone fire place was set up, ready to be lit. Much of our time over the following 3 nights was spent sitting by the fire, sipping wine and eating cheese. The outdoor bathtub was a fantastic touch too – It was lovely to sink beneath the bubbles with a drink, take in the scenery and feel the cool crisp wind. We made good use of the board games and stereo provided, and between the impressive BBQ and the kitchenette we were also able to prepare some delicious meals. The bed was very comfortable (electric blankets were a great addition) as were the bathrobes provided (we wore them incessantly). We found a book on the dining table which documented the construction of Cascade, and reading this gave us an even greater appreciation for what Janene and Dave have created. We wish them every success. We’ll definitely be back!

Rebecca and Nathan-27 August 2013

Luxury, relaxing getaway! What a magic location! The cabin is beautiful and has everything you need for a relaxing break away from it all. It is so quiet and peaceful yet you are within close distance to exploring the beautiful area of the Catlin’s. The Host’s have thought of everything including leaving a packet of marshmallows to toast on an open fire and also a birthday cake was left for us as it was my husbands birthday. Cant wait to go back!

Lisa and Aaron – August 31st 2013

Blissful two days of peace and quiet. We loved staying here! It was really something different. Thought we’d be a bit apprehensive about no TV, internet etc, but we really enjoyed the peace and quiet. The cabin was very luxurious, we loved the stone fireplace (we want one in our next house!) comfortable beds and especially the outside bath – magic!. Janene really went to great lengths to ensure our comfort. The little touches were very thoughtful too. Be sure to stay here – you will never want to leave!

Meredith and Craig – 31 July 2013

An amazing experience. My friends and I had the most wonderful weekend for my 50th birthday celebrations.  We enjoyed the attention to detail and hospitality given by Janene and Dave.  The secluded & relaxing location, 5-star log cabin, outside bath, hammock, native bush & birds, and the unique experience is something that we will treasure for the next fifty years!  I am so looking forward to returning to the Retreat!           

Moira Young 26 Jul 2013

Amazing Gorgeous Retreat! We loved this cabin! It’s so cute and romantic ( but would equally be quite cool   to stay at with family or friends). It is just a gorgeous building, with so   many thoughtful touches, it has a great style and a fantastic view out into   the bush. It is so private and a complete break from technology and stress.   We were very touched to receive a personalised letter and a yummy chocolate   cake to help us celebrate our wedding anniversary, as well as marshmallows to   roast over the open fire. The outdoors bath was awesome, with birds flying   overhead. I just spent the whole time smiling.

Mike and Jody-May 18, 2013

Wow! Luxury and seclusion. Cascade Creek is a handcrafted log cabin set amongst native New Zealand bush, birdsong is aplenty and walking trails litter the hillside. We are from Dunedin and would recommend this to anyone looking for a short break. A must for any couples or honeymooners passing through. Expect all of your everyday comforts, just don’t forget something nice to eat & drink! Key features for me included the large open fire, and the outdoor bath with running hot water – boom!

Josh Jenkins – 10 May 2013

 

 

 

 

 

Check our availability & BOOK your holiday at Cascade Creek Retreat

 

 

Simply Spectacular. So, if you’re like me, you’ll see the other five-star reviews on this website and feel slightly skeptical. You’ll think “sure, it must be good, but it can’t be that great. “If, like me, you’re thinking that, I’m here to tell you that you’re wrong. Cascade Creek Retreat is most thoroughly deserving of its five-star rating. Like the others have noted, the location is terrific, the log-cabin perfectly constructed and the amenities just wonderful. Its remoteness means that you can truly connect with your surroundings and experience the relaxation that comes with that connection.

If that’s all Cascade Creek was, however, then it would simply be a wonderful place to stay. What makes it spectacular is the hosts’ generosity and hospitality – their sheer thoughtfulness is quite breathtaking.

Quite simply: stay here. Experience this. It’s far more wonderful than any five-star review could convey.

Marcelo Rodriguez Ferrere- Feb.13, 2013

Serenity and Seclusion – Paradise! We absolutely loved our stay at Cascade Creek Retreat. Our only regret is that we didn’t book it for longer! From the outdoor bath overlooking the mountains, the warmth and comfort of the open log fire, the little touches, Sheridan robes and linen, the little walking tracks the charming interior (and exterior) of the chalet and the breath taking surrounds, they have thought of everything! Cooking facilities were also great! A pleasant drive from Dunedin and well worth the trip. An experience of a lifetime. Loved!

Sarah T. April 24, 2013

Heaven is a place on Earth. The log cabin is totally secluded and private. The views are just breath taking. One of my lifetime time goals was to stay in a log cabin and Cascade Creek Retreat went way beyond my expectations – the attention to detail was amazing. Total luxury. As for the hosts and service – absolutely fantastic – make you feel like old friends. Absolutely the best place to go for a quiet romantic break. Have already rebooked to go back again this year. Loved everything about it – Total Heaven!

Nicky and Mark-8 Feb, 2013

What a fantastic location and absolutely charming hosts. Everything about the place is just so wonderful – the log cabin is set on a beautiful location with amazing views. The cabin has everything you will need and most of all the sense of tranquility. It’s a great holiday place to relax but also to get around and sightsee as we did. We travelled to Dunedin during the day which was about an hours drive. My kids thoroughly enjoyed their stay here and have asked us if we could go back later this year! The kids loved the visit to the farm, a ride on the quad bike, walks to see the sheep, and enjoyed a warm bath in the outdoor tub. We had a ‘dine in’ dinner which was just lovely with great service. Our hosts, Dave and Janene are ever so charming and hospitable. They made us feel more than comfortable and our stay extra special. We had such a beautiful experience here that we can’t stop telling our friends and family about the place.

Senan and Shenu – Jan. 9, 2013

The perfect ‘home away from home’ Christmas Chalet! We showed up on the 23rd of Dec., after tramping the Routeburn Track for three days. After camping in cold and wet conditions, and driving across the island we were anxious to get to more comfortable quarters. We were greeted buy a real Christmas tree completely decked out as well as a thoughtful gift from Janene and Dave under the tree. The chalet was everything we’d hoped for and then some. It was stocked with everything you would need and we only went out to buy our food. They have continental breakfast cereals, yoghurt and fresh fruit to accommodate the amount of guests and for the number of days booked as well as the essentials in the fridge. They are generous with everything provided and go out of their way to make you feel at home. There was a Tui that sang everyday in a tree just next to the patio and we all took turns in the outdoor bath, under the stars. The book describing the building of this dream chalet is very interesting as well as the comments from previous guests. It made us feel we were part of the place, and we really, really loved it! Thanks, and Kudo’s to Janene & Dave

Joy MacDonald- Dec 23, 2012

Disconnect from the outside world and reconnect with loved ones! My husband and I were blown away by how beautiful the cabin is. Yes, it is very secluded and lovingly built by hand, but still had many touches of luxury. The bed was as clean and comfortable as a 5 star hotel, and the towels and robes as well. The fixtures and furniture are all top class, and the outdoor bathtub was amazing. All this, plus personal, thoughtful touches like the fireplace already being set up with kindling, marshmallows to toast over the fire, board games, candles, magazines, CDs, etc. We ordered a BBQ box of food to cook ourselves. The grill and kitchen are modern and high quality so this was easy and relaxing for us. We loved that the place is solar-powered with an emphasis and being eco-friendly, but there is a back-up generator and plenty of instantly hot water. There’s even a filtered water tap.

As non-Kiwis, we were initially confused and a little concerned about the location. Nearest town of Milton doesn’t have a lot to offer visitors. If you’re looking for a convenient base to visit a ton of tourist attractions in Dunedin or the Catlins, it’s maybe not the best location. But what we wanted was to hole up somewhere really secluded and beautiful so it turned out to be absolutely perfect. I’d recommend you stock up on all supplies like snacks, drinks, food, etc. — once you get to the cabin, you just won’t want to leave! We enjoyed just listening to the wind and birds, and breathing in the Manuka aroma from the native bush. Great hiking trails right out the door too!

In conclusion, it was so wonderful to spend time in a place that is so clearly hand-crafted with love, and designed by people who understand high-end eco-travel. Pure romance!

 Chisato Uno – 7 January 2013

An absolute hidden gem! If you are looking for a romantic getaway as a special occasion treat, a retreat from ‘the rat race’ or some time to yourself then this place is it! You’d never believe it’s just out of Milton! Hidden away in a valley, you could be miles from civilisation. We had a couple of truly fantastic days there. The log cabin is just gorgeous. Every need is thought about and catered for, the hospitality is amazing (whether you choose to see the hosts or not) and the setting is truly divine regardless of the weather. It’s something pretty special! We had the “Dinner In” (chef cooked for us) and it was really top class (and totally romantic)! We can’t recommend this highly enough. D & J Ward- Dec 18, 2012

Will send people to this unspoilt part of New Zealand! Fantastic, very private no cell phones or TV,great.6 adults spent two nights at the retreat, we relaxed went for a busy walk and enjoyed Janene’s home made cookies.The Hosts popped in to see we had everything then left us to the peace of unspoilt New Zealand. Thank you. Joan Cockburn- Nov 22, 2012

Absolutely Fantastic, Recommend to all We loved our stay, a beautiful place to relax and enjoy. A place to get away from the world. We will be back Deanna Hoskins- Nov 11, 2012

“SERENITY”…. Absolutely awesome!!!!!!!!!!! Fantastic service…very, very welcoming…extremely clean & tidy …peaceful…quiet…calming…relaxing… beautiful setting…gourmet food…stunning scenery…romantic… warm & cosy…wheelchair friendly!!! Definitely the place to stay!!!! Loved it…really exceeded my high expectations… Nick Chisolm – Oct 26, 2012

Just what the Doctor ordered…After a particularly emotionally demanding few months it was time to take a well-earned break from the hustle and bustle of our hectic schedules and escape for a couple of nights to recharge and just catch up with one another. We’d heard about Cascade Creek as being a place where you could recharge your batteries without having to spend half a day driving to get there. As soon as we drove over the brow of the hill and looked down to the cabin we know we’d make an excellent choice to invest in some ‘us time’. The cabin is absolutely magical and the attention to detail deserves huge praise.

Bridget Meyer, Sept. 2012

“What an absolutely amazing place!” Such a stunning piece of paradise!  I didnt want to leave.

Rebecca Crawford  Sep 07, 2012

“Fantastic. Could not be faulted in any way” The hosts obviously love what they do. The accommodation, food and service was a full 10 out of 10. Would definitely go back. My only concewrn is that this place will become so sought after we wont be able to get a booking next time.

David Stewart  Sep 06, 2012

“Absolutely amazing! Words cannot describe how beautiful the Retreat is.”  My partner and I had the most amazing time at the Retreat and will be definitely be going back. Our hosts were so attentive and caring and helped us with all our special requirements (my partner is disabled in a wheelchair). We were made to feel so very welcome and the tiny touches to make you feel at home were truly touching! I cannot rate this experience highly enough and we will definitely be going back for more. We have recommended this place to all our friends and family!

Nicola Kolb – Sep 01, 2012

“Just so, so, special!” I have stayed at this cabin twice already, and it is beyond amazing. I didn’t stop smiling the entire time. Every detail, every piece of furniture, the food, the atmosphere; this place is perfect. The fire is incredible, the couches so comfy, the food is delicious, and the views and grounds are breathtaking. You must take the walk to the waterfalls, and enjoy the native bush. The birds are amazing and such a joy to see and hear. This place is a real treasure, and you will leave feeling refreshed, relaxed and with a respect for nature and the importance of peace and quiet. Thank-you Dave & Janene, you are the most charming and genuine hosts, you have created a truly magical experience!

Emily Cannan – Aug 10, 2012

 

“Fantastic place to get away and relax!” Cascade Creek Retreat was awesome. It had everything we needed and more – loved the outdoor bath and the little touch of marshmallows by the roaring fire. We will definitely be recommending this to all our friends!

Nic and Sam – Jul 12, 2012

 

“Stunning Log Cabin Getaway” If you want a private, romantic weekend away, spent lazying in front of a huge stone fireplace with wine and chocolate, a mezannine master suite with HUGE comfy bed and a hot steaming bath with the sun, stars or moon shining on your face and the rustle of harakeke (flax) beside you – this is the place to go! Stunning workmanship and warm hospitality. Highly recommended!

Miriam Keane – Jun 11, 2012